Several states have adopted a relaxed stance toward marijuana in recent years, with some of them decriminalizing the substance altogether. Unfortunately, this has led to a widespread misunderstanding of the laws associated with marijuana in Tennessee. Before you assume that the state has relaxed its marijuana laws, it is much smarter to get the facts and protect yourself from a conviction.
If you are interested in using cannabis, the first thing you should know is that the substance is still illegal in Tennessee, even medicinally. The next thing to learn is the possible consequences of an arrest involving marijuana.
Marijuana laws and penalties
The section below offers a brief look at the laws and their penalties. If you need more detailed information, a criminal defense law firm can tell you more about the state’s approach to marijuana charges.
- Possession: Possessing cannabis is a crime in Tennessee. If caught with less than a half-ounce, you can expect a misdemeanor arrest. A conviction for a first offense typically means a minimum fine of $250 and enrollment in a drug education course. Subsequent convictions will result in increased penalties.
- Sale: Selling marijuana is also a crime. If the amount sold weighs more than half an ounce, defendants could face felony charges, probable jail time and fines of between $2,000 and $500,000. Those with a history of selling cannabis will incur severe penalties upon a conviction.
Building a strong criminal defense as possible is your best hope of overcoming marijuana charges in the Manchester region. In some cases, you may avoid a conviction altogether. Other times, it may be possible to have your charges reduced, which would mean avoiding the harshest consequences associated with a cannabis conviction.